National Computational Infrastructure

NCI Australia logo with the words Providing Australian researchers with world-class high-end computing services


  • Background

    In its present form, NCI operates as an unincorporated collaborative venture (the Collaboration) of a number of leading national research organisations, initially the Australian National University, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), the Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BoM), and Geoscience Australia to further their commitment to the long-term advancement of national, advanced computing services for research. Subsequently the Collaboration was joined by Intersect Australia, the Queensland Cyber-infrastructure Foundation, and a consortium of research-intensive universities through an Australian Research Council Multi-Institutional Agreement for a large ARC Linkage Infrastructure Grant, the parties to which are ANU, Monash University, the University of New South Wales, the University of Queensland, and the University of Sydney.

    The structure of the Collaboration is set out in the NCI Collaboration Agreement which details the goals of the Collaboration, sets out its governance structure, articulates the partner contributions, and details the  resource shares model (required by both the parties to the Agreement, and by the Australian Government as the funder of infrastructure).


    NCI is governed by the Australian National University on the advice of NCI Board, to within the limits of the Statutes and policies of the University.

    The Board comprises:

    • An independent Chair appointed by the Board
    • Director, NCI
    • One nominee board member appointed by each of the Major Collaborators (presently ANU, CSIRO, BoM and GA)
    • Additional independent board members appointed for two year terms by the NCI Board, because of their expertise or to broaden the opportunities and role of NCI.

    The Board is advised by two sub-committees:

    • Nominations Committee: the role of which is to consider the range of skills, expertise and background which independent members may bring to the Board; propose and receive nominations from Major Collaborators to fill vacancies of independent members; and to review the performance of the Director.
    • Finance, Audit, Risk and Management Committee: the role of which is to receive reports on risk management and to recommend to the Board on matters requiring action, recommend on the initiation of audits and receive University-initiated audits and to advise the Board appropriately, consider management issues referred by the Board.
  • NCI Board

  • Emeritus Professor Michael Barber
    NCI Steering Committee

  • Professor Sean Smith

  • Professor Keith Nugent
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
    The Australian National University

  • Dr Gilbert Brunet
    Chief Scientist and Group Executive (Science and Innovation)
    Bureau of Meteorology

  • Dr David Williams
    Executive Director National Facilities & Collections


  • Dr James Johnson
    Chief Executive Officer
    Geoscience Australia

  • Professor Robin Stanton
    Deputy Chair

  • Dr Thomas Barlow
    Independent Member
    Research strategist
    Barlow Advisories

  • Dr Simone Richter
    Independent Member
    Group Executive Nuclear Science & Technology and Landmark Infrastructure
    Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation

  • Advisors to the Steering Committee

  • Dr Ben Evans
    Associate Director, Research, Engagement and Initiatives (NCI)
    Advisor to the NCI Steering Committee.

  • Mr Allan Williams
    Associate Director, Services and Technologies

  • Amanda Walker
    NCI Business Manager

In Collaboration With